# Default note status

> You can use notes as tasks or reminders and assign them to another user an Open state.

Source: https://support.kustomer.com/en_us/default-note-status-SkLiFrvc8

Last updated: 2026-06-30T16:31:27.434Z

By default, when [notes](https://help.kustomer.com/use-notes-HJvDjNP58) are created in a customer's timeline, their status is automatically set to Done. You may want to change this so that notes that are being used as tasks or reminders for another user can be assigned to them in an Open state.

**Who can access this feature?**

**User types**

Admins can access the Conversation Status page.

  

****Note:**** By default, the note status is set to ****Done****. This means that when an agent adds an internal note, the conversation status changes to Done, which may trigger business rules that auto-close the conversation. To prevent this behavior, go to ****Settings**** > ****Workspace**** > ****Conversation Status**** and change the default note status from ****Done**** to ****Open****.

**To change the default status of a note:**

1.  Go to **Settings![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/f05cdada4572b443716f5b851183b924.png)****\> Workspace** > **Conversation Status**.
2.  Select the **Done** tab.  
    ![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/22ab2f2870ee3e0b5dc0550172086aa2.png)
3.  Turn off the toggle for **Set Notes as Done by Default**.

Now, whenever a note is added to a customer's timeline, its status will be Open.
